new things in the new year


Today I made a healthy green drink. I got the recipe off The Globe and Mail news web site. If you do not know The Globe and Mail it is a Canadian news site that I love. It has world news as well as Canadian news. It is free and the design and layout are the best. They have the best lifestyle features. I frequently read the food and wine features which is how I stumbled upon this recipe.

This drink contains: kale, spinach, flat leaf parsley, grapefruits, lemons, ginger. I had to go to two supermarkets to get the kale and spinach since my local store was out of both. There were a lot of people in the produce department so I think everyone has the same idea. Start eating healthy again after all the eating and drinking that went on over the past couple of weeks. I used my emersion blender to blend the ingredients together. I pushed it to the limits with this drink. It’s hardly a drink. You need to spoon it. It’s very good but quite strong.  The kale ads a bitter sweet flavor. I actually feel great after drinking it but that could be because I was so happy I did not burn out or break my blender.

The other new thing is my camera. I’m debuting some of my first shots from my Canon EOS Rebel T3i that I got for myself for Christmas. It is a real treat. I have been thinking about it for a year and finally took the plunge. My previous DSLR was a Sony which served me very well and now has a new home with my son. So far I LOVE my new camera. I have not taken a lot of pictures yet because I have been mostly experimenting and learning about it but I have gotten some wonderful shots. It would be great to have a snow storm now.  Last winter it seemed to snow endlessly in Boston. I’ll be working on my photo skills and trying to stay away from too many pictures of Lola.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, photos

Leave a Reply

