new year, new word

Ruminate: to chew over and over and over and over

I was reading the January 2012 issue of one of my favorite magazines, REALSIMPLE, and one of the many interesting articles in this month’s change your bad habits for 2012 issue titled Get Over Overthinking caught my eye immediately. I am guilty of this very bad habit. It is one of the main causes of my insomnia. It is more widely reported in women than men but I won’t re-write the article explaining that. Rumination is described as getting “stuck in the analysis phase of a problem.” The old saying someone sounds like a broken record also comes to mind.

The article comes to me at the exact moment that I need it. I have been ruminating for eight days an incident that happened eight days ago that really pissed me off and that I feel helpless to do anything about it. And, I cannot wait to tell one of my friends about it so I can continue wallowing in it, get sympathy and outrage, and end up co-ruminating with her. Let me just drag this incident out as long as I can. I have already resolved the problem the best I can but I cannot stop ruminating it.

That is all going to change right now with the exception of me telling my friend the next time I talk to her. Because after I post this post I am going to the Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy site, at mbct.com and start taking action to get rid of this nonproductive habit. Also, I am going to look up a referenced book in the article, Women Who Think Too Much: How to Break Free of Overthinking and Reclaim Your Life and see what that looks like and order it from Amazon if it looks good. Or maybe get a copy at the library first before I add it to my small collection of unread self-help books.

2 Comments

Filed under opinion

2 responses to “new year, new word

  1. Charlotte Halloran

    This over ruminating on problems is something that I have a problem with too. Let me know if this site and/or book is helpful.

    • Hi Charlotte, Thank you for commenting on my post. I have the book on request at the library so I will let you know. The site is really only a reference to other books so not too much substance there. Hope to see you at the next meeting.

      Ann

Leave a Reply

