Boston and the Bruins

First, let me say that I am not a Bruins fan. I’m not a sports fan at all except for the Patriots. But my son gave me a gift certificate for one night at the Hyatt Regency in Boston last night, which by coincidence was the night before the big Bruins parade.  This is the view from my room at the Hyatt.  It’s the first time I have ever seen the State House from this vantage, and I grew up in Boston.  I’m usually looking up at it.  So this is pretty cool for me.

The reason I was in town was so that my son and I could go to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants in the South End, Giacomo’s. It was such a beautiful night that we walked from the Hyatt, which in case you don’t know is practically in Chinatown, to the South End. Being that is was such a beautiful night we walked back to the hotel after dinner.

This morning, with prediction of a million fans lining the streets of Boston for the parade, I left downtown at 10:00am. Crowds of people were coming in on the T as I was leaving.  It was pretty cool to see.  There was a good feeling among the fans and there were lots of families. And LOTS of cops.

I had my Canon Power Shoot 600 with me and can REALLY see the difference in quality of photos from my Sony DSLR that I usually use.  My Canon was the first digital camera I had and I thought it was the greatest when I got it.  The resulting photos answered a question I frequently ask myself when looking at other people’s blogs–why are their photos so bad.

Here’s another photo I took on our walk.  These shots would have been much better with my Sony but I was traveling light.

The old Prudential Building next to . . . . . . some other building.

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

