blueberry pie

For Mother’s Day my son gave me, among other gifts, a pastry cutter.  I used it for the first time to make a blueberry pie with a lattice crust.  I had never made a lattice crust before. I pride myself on being a pretty basic baker and like farmhouse and peasant styles of baking and cooking.

I was invited to a bbq at my neighbors across the street and, as usual, I volunteered to make dessert. These are the same neighbors who asked me to make the pastries for their baby shower. I blogged about the baby shower in December. Since then they have given birth to a wonderful baby girl who I am now lucky enough to baby sit for on a regular basis. She is now four months old, today, and so sweet.

They pie was a great success though a little watery.  I looked into adding either corn starch or arrowroot to the blueberry filing in anticipation of this but nixed the ideas because, well, just because. I took recipes from Martha Stewart’s Pies & Tarts (1985) for the filling and The King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook (Rev. 1991) for the crust. For the filling I used half refined sugar and half organic cane sugar which gave it a nice texture and look. The sweetness was perfect.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, photos

Leave a Reply

