woke up to 35 degrees

The temperature this fine April morning was 35 degrees at 6:30am when I woke up.  It wasn’t just a dream of being cold.   The sun was shining beautifully so I was optimistic but it is cloudy now at 9:30am and really looks cold and raw out there.  We’ll only be in the 40s today.  I really wanted to go for a walk but I don’t know if I can do it.

I hope my seedlings survived.  I know the camomile doesn’t mind germinating in the cold weather but I’m not sure about the nasturtiums that were doing so well.  Everything else should be fine since I have hearty perennials.

That squirrel I mentioned in a previous blog is coming around on a regular basis.  I refilled the bird feeder and a day and a half later it was empty.  I see him out there hanging off it and gorging himself/herself all the time.  For all I know it’s more than one squirrel.  I guess I’ll have to break down and buy a squirrel-proof feeder.  When I lived in Beverly on the North Shore I never saw one squirrel.  We had wild life an hawks out there that made it impossible for squirrels to survive.  I didn’t realize what a pain the poor creatures are.

Great!  The wind just started howling and it is raining.  Well, it is New England–just wait five minutes–it will change.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

